This place is new to Kerrisdale replacing the long standing Avenue Grill. With not be as satisfied with the other Pho place in the area it was time to give Pho Triple 3 a try. We ordered the lg hot & sour prawn soup with egg noodles and the chicken teriyaki and wonton soup combo.
The hot & sour soup broth came in 1 container and the noodles in another. The broth was filled to the top which I like b/c the broth is my favourite part of the soup. There were ample amounts thin egg noodles in the other. Accompanying the broth was 6 good size prawns, cabbage, deep fried onion bits, basil, tomatoes and bean sprouts. The soup was really flavourful. The only thing that it didn't come with was additional bean sprouts, basil and hot/hoisin sauce. I would request that next time. The chicken teriyaki came in a good portion of crispy deep fried chicken, a broccoli, steamed bean sprouts and cabbage. The teriyaki sauce came in the side with sesame seeds in it. This dish was a hit with the chicken teriyaki consumers in our family.
I would return to this place and would be interested to see what their other dishes taste like.
No one was at the desk when we arrived, so we just sort of stood around until someone finally noticed us. We were waited on by three different servers, and while they were friendly enough, the service was average. For example, only one of us was offered fresh ground pepper, and she walked away before we could ask. The soup had a layer of grease floating on top, the steak was gristly, the sea bass had no flavour, and the chicken, which tasted wonderful going down was ghastly coming out the other end all night long. When the manager got back to me four days later, by email and not telephone, all he had to say was "thanks for the feedback." We should have turned around and walked out when we saw the mostly empty restaurant at 7:30pm on a Friday and the big screen TV (really? In a "fancy" restaurant?) showing the latest MMA bout.
Well, this one is a significant improvement over the one on West 10th. The West 10th Gold Train Express used to be fabulous. It has gone seriously downhill in every way, especially in the quality of the service of the staff. This one was much better - I ordered the same thing that I used to always order at the West 10th location. It was MUCH BETTER food, the service was GREAT, the atmosphere was SO MUCH NICER. I will definitely go back to this one again, and I will never, EVER go back to the one on West 10th.
I was an extremely loyal customer of this restaurant for a very long time (many years). It used to be GREAT - great food, great service, great value, eclectic décor.
But now, I refuse to even go back anymore. I am in mourning! This used to be my go-to place. Now, I am left with such a terrible taste in my mouth that I decided I just have to let it go. This is what happened. In the last 2 years this place has gone seriously downhill in every single way. I think there was a change of ownership (I'm not sure, but nothing else explains the depressing downturn that has taken place in this once-great place). This is what they did:
- changed and seriously LOWERED the quality of the food
- RAISED the prices (lower quality for more $)
- DRAMATICALLY reduced the quality of the service of the staff
- developed a SERIOUSLY BAD ATTITUDE towards long-time loyal customers like me
Here are just a few examples of the changes that they made:
(1) There used to be regular table service by regular servers. They eliminated this except for the very beginning step of ordering food and bringing the food to the table. After the food is brought to the table, they do not provide any further table service at all. The servers used to come by regularly to the table as a normal server does to ask if you need anything and also to refill the tea pot, refill your water glass, etc. --> now, every time I've been there in the last 2 years, after the server brought my food I was completely ignored from that moment on, and if I ever needed or wanted anything else at all (water, tea pot refill, order something else, order dessert, or get the bill) I had to literally get up and go to the front counter to ask for it.
(2) They used to bring the bill on a small plate complete with one slice of orange per person + one fortune cookie per person. They eliminated this. Every time I've been there in the last 2 years, they never once did this again. It was a nice touch. Believe it or not, it kind of made the meal, in the end. Now, not only do they no longer bring the little plate with the slice of orange, fortune cookie, and your bill........they refuse to bring the bill to the table at all anymore. You have to go up to the counter and ask for the bill.
(3) Good luck when you constantly DO have to go up to the counter every time anybody at your table needs anything at all --> the staff are sometimes not even there, they are in the back, and you have to actually have to call out to them loudly into the kitchen and ask one of them to please help you. I think this is totally unacceptable for a restaurant. You shouldn't have to call out to the staff in the kitchen when you want a refill of water, you want to order something else, or you want to pay your bill. Then again, if this is the kind of system they want, who am I to say they shouldn't have it? But seriously, they should probably put signs up saying they no longer provide full table service like they used to. It's not always the case that there is nobody at the counter when you need to go up there to ask for something, sometimes there actually is somebody around at the front counter to take your request when you are forced to get up from your table every time you want something....just not always...they're absent often enough that I sure remember having to do it often in the last 2 years of my continued loyalty.
(4) They used to be friendly staff for so many years! They most certainly are no longer friendly, and they don't even realize that they're unfriendly to extremely loyal customers who have been going there for years and years on end.
(5) The last straw for me was the last time I went there, about 1 or 2 months ago. After so many years of loyal devotion to this place, this last time I went for lunch there was an extremely loud child in the restaurant. This child was not a baby. This was an older child of about 12, 13 or 14 years old. The kid and his Mom were screaming at each other nonstop. They were so loud that it completely disrupted my meal. I was alone, but if I were with somebody else we couldn't have had a conversation - that's how loud it was. I was trying to read a book...I couldn't even read because the screaming was so distracting. The yelling went on and on and on...through the whole meal! I could tell that all of the customers were disturbed by the loud voices too. Finally half way through my meal I got up, went to the counter, and asked the so-called "server" if he could please ask these guests to be more quiet. Would you believe that this is what he said to me: "No! I'm not going to ask them to change their behavior, they have loud voices, they have every right to talk and eat just like everybody else." WOW! These were not just "loud voices". This was bloody screaming and yelling at each other, nonstop.
This "server" didn't even give a damn that I was an incredibly loyal customer for so many years....as long as I can remember. I have brought many many friends to this place. I had been frequenting it about once/week for several years in a row!
I was so shocked by his lack of helpfulness that I asked who he was. He said he was the owner.
Enough said -- right then and there, I knew that I would never, EVER give this owner my money again. This is an owner who does not care about his good customers.
Nobody should give their money to that kind of business owner.
This is a great little craft beer joint in the middle of nowhere (Ontario & 8th Ave) which gets packed on Friday evenings. There's usually a line up to fill your growlers or to get inside but I usually manage to find a seat. Noisier than hell when it gets packed but that's part of the fun I suppose. They serve a long list of their craft creations and have small snacks to eat, including the meat & pretzel plates and Charcuterie. Sometimes a band will play live and often, a food truck is parked right out front. I love the beer sampler.
Was so glad to see a ramen shop open in North Burnaby last year. Been here a few times now. The ambience is nice and place seems clean. But the most important thing is the food and it could be improved. This posting is not to warn consumers to stay away - it's to ask the owner/operator/chef to go see how ramen is supposed to look & taste and then improve yours. Your broth is bland. The noodles, ingredients and presentation is good but the bowl is missing Umami. Go see how they do it at Benkei, Santouka, or Kintaro.
Also I think the owner, Mr. Park (according to the business permit) is cheapening out on the stock - the tea had no taste at all. The Chasui meat had no taste.
The one positive is their rice "bombs" which are seaweed rice balls and they're unique and fairly tasty.
So Mr. Park...please improve - you have so much potential.
On Wednesday, March 9, 2016, my husband and I went to Osteria Napoli Ristorante (1600 Renfrew St., Vancouver) for dinner. It was our first time there and it was the Groupon that prompted us to give it a try. The Groupon worth $50 for anything on the menu. We arrived at 6:20pm. The waiter told suggested, politely, that instead of using our Groupon we might want to consider keeping it for another day of the week. Reason being, on Wednesday nights they offer your choice of any pasta dish (except seafood) for roughly half-price ($9.99) and deeply discounted house wines ($12 for a half-litre). We understood that conversation to mean… ”You should capitalize on our low Wednesday night prices by using cash and save your Groupon for a more expensive evening like a Thursday, Friday or Saturday. You’d get more bang for your buck then”. NOTE: Those are my words, not his, but that is how we understood the conversation.
Nonetheless, we decided to redeem the Groupon that night rather than risking holding onto it for a 2nd night when we it might turn out that we didn’t enjoy the food or service.
Here’s the key point, in our two conversations (on arrival and when placing our order) at NO TIME did he indicate that if we used the Groupon that we were not eligible for the special Wednesday prices and instead we would have to pay full price for the meal, i.e. - the pasta dishes became $17+ each instead of $9.99, and the wine became $18 instead of $12.
Our order was taken promptly and we received our appetizer in a reasonable amount of time. Once the appetizer was done, the main course never came. The tables around us were being served but not us. One table of 4 arrived after us, got through their entire meal, paid and left and we were still waiting for our meal. We had tickets for a play to attend at 8pm so at 7:25 we got up to leave and asked that our meal be boxed. We weren’t in a huff… we just had to go… and we didn’t think a pasta dish was going to take so long to prepare. Even if the food came out that minute we wouldn’t have had time to eat it and drive to the theatre. The person at the cash (the owner we believe?) was apologetic, as was the server. We were told: “We are so sorry, we told the kitchen about your order, we don’t know what happened with your meal but we are going to make it up to you, we will cancel your appetizer”.
The server said loudly: “I went to the kitchen 3 times asking where is the food for Table 33 !?!”
I think he said that more for “The Boss” to know where the fault lay and not so much for our benefit.
The Boss repeated 3 times… “Don’t worry, we’ll take care of you. Peter, (or whatever the waiter’s name was) take the appetizer off the bill.”
We waited for our boxed meal to come out of the kitchen and eventually it came, but with a bill with two extra surprises on it:
1) All the dishes and wine were all at full price… about $69 instead of $49.
2) The appetizer had not been cancelled and we were charged the full $17. The explanation was that because we used a Groupon they would not cancel the appetizer. They would have cancelled the appetizer if we were “Cash customers” but not for “Groupon” customers.
Wow! We are business people and we know about margins, profit, etc., and we understand that their profit on a Groupon meal is less than normal. Still, the whole point of issuing a Groupon is to attract new customers, impress them with your product & services, and expand your user-base and future business volume. Instead, we were treated like 2nd class citizens… it even gave me a taste of unwarranted discrimination… For them, Yes, but for you, No!
The whole experience at that restaurant was a disaster and left a very bad taste in our mouths. By the time we got home from the play it was 10:30pm we went to bed and did not eat the pasta. When we re-heated it the next day, the food was quite good. But it won’t matter, we would never go back to this place and we will advise our circle of friends never to go as well. Too bad, as it is right in the vicinity of our theatre house/stage which we frequent about 15 times per year!
A Groupon should be a marketing tool to get new customers to try your restaurant. In this instance, it was clearly treated as a nuisance by the merchant and we the users were not treated as “real” customers.
I would appreciate it if Groupon could acknowledge my complaint and pass it on to the restaurant owner or manager who signed on to your program.
PS – To think, all the waiter had to say was, simply, “You can use your Groupon for anything listed on our food & beverage menu. However, please be aware that if you apply it to our pasta and house wine specials you are not eligible for the Wednesday night pricing and would need to pay the regular price.”
That is clear… and even justifiable… but it needs to be said!
new owners! the place is clean and still has the Classic Diner Feel
Low prices good food Truckers Breakfast still only $5.75
a local legend is regaining its place as one of the great greasy spoons in the lower mainland!
Even the Frieghtliner burger is back!
and the coffee is Organic / fair trade medium roast from South America and bottomless as allways
My husband and I contemplated eating-in, but our son decided that he wanted to get take away. It had been a long day at work, so as long as I didn't have to cook I was fine. Plus, there was a wine bottle that had been eyeing me for a while..figured now would be a great time to open it.
The delivery took longer than expected, I had almost finished my glass when the doorbell rang. It had nearly been an hour, and starving would not even close to describe how desperate I was for food. The food was okay though, albeit a bit cold. The tandoori chicken, which is usually my favourite new dish, was a little spicy and lacking elsewhere. The rice order we made came a little unnecessary as the garlic naan garnered all the attention. It was delicious and fell short for the three of us. My son ordered the vindaloo at normal spice and found it to be very good. A perfect combination of spice and meat. For the price, I think it was a good take, although I would rather eat it hot and not have to re-heat.
I love this Starbucks . I've been to hundreds but this one is top drawer! The staff is always so kind- welcoming. Almost warm and fuzzy!
They make my frapps just perfect and they're upfront about it. They always go the extra mile. I've only seen them be rude a couple of times when this weird stuck up chick was super rude and demanding. How much should they take right? Whenever I go tithe cash they smile and welcome me back. Like a little corner cafe just the best!!
But with out the msg and heavy salt their food would taste like cheap Chinese food.
I gave up on the organge door because when ever I ordered it with out msg and salt...they added both. I know because I watch them cook it. And each time the cook reaches for the three cans of white products next to his wok.
One salt one sugar, and one msg. And each time.e eing the nice canadian, I except their lie about "this one not yours." I guess the last straw was she. I watched the driver walking into the kitchen, it Washing his hands and start chopping cutting, anfilling baskets for the cook, and using his jacketed-elbow to push stacks of u cooked food down I to containers for the cook. YUCK.
Just a regular burger, no expensive fries nor drinks. Sever bucks for half a burger. The rest I tossed. It use to be good. New owners? Who ever they are running this place have little idea of what a true Merican, burger should be.
I watched the girls cook one burger at a time...over a flame..and wondering if two or more burgers cooking at the same time would blow their minds.
Half an hour later I recieved a watery sloppy burger with the only flavour being the BBQ sauce that she was reluctant to add..
No charbroiled flavour, I guess they added too much liquids as a filler and steamed the burger instead and by the time it cooked, it was boiled.
Crap! I'll never ever go back. Why waste my money on boiled meat?
Horrible customer service. All I wanted was some Chinese food so I didn't have to cook and was willing to wait up to an hour. The lady on the phone takes my order and at the very end proceeds to tell me they're busy, do I want the food still. I say yes many many times and she keeps repeating that I'm wasting HER time. Maybe tell the customer you're NOT accepting orders BEFORE you take their orders over the phone. Horrible lady. Not worth going there, you're better off going to Mcds across the street.
Why do people go to all the trouble of opening a restaurant and squander the opportunity to do something with it? The Asian population around Metro Vancouver is big, and yet all these places can ever do (no matter where in Canada) is serve every possible permutation with the selected pre-cooked chunk of meat drowning miserably in the selected pre-blendered sauce, then (barely) microwaved.
You would not eat this at home, so why serve it in your restaurant? It is bad. A menu like this is not lots of choice, it is anti-choice. If you want to save money, cook 6 different dishes and that's it. Let people choose from those. Cook fresh. Cook simple.
These places need a kick up the backside from Gordon Ramsey. You have an opportunity to excel, to really show what you can do and be brilliant, to have a packed house or to be shipping out dozens of take-out orders.
But like every other similar place, you find the lowest common denominator, and halve it. You figure out what people will put up with, and scrape over that bar. Buck up!
The ladies filling the glasses and taking the plates were great, but the (proprietor?) taking the order took service lessons from Basil Fawlty. If you don't want to be there on a Sunday night sir, just shut the doors and stay home.
This place had promise when it opened, and slid down hill. I will not go again. How sad that Port Moody, lacking in Indian Restaurants and PRIME location for a successful one, is laboured with more of the same.
I go to WS quite often, one of my wife's favorites and my kids enjoy pirate paks. My wife ordered a mac and cheese burger and i got fish tacos. She absolutely loved the burger. Looks like they got their burgers down. My fish tacos left more to be desired. There is nothing I could point my finger to and say this was bad. It was just the over all quality of the dish. When you walk out of there you feel somewhat ripped off. I know I can do fish tacos myself better than this Maple Ridge location did it. I know WS does burgers, breakfast and the usual fair pretty well. I think the price of burgers is a little on the high side, but it's alright. Now I am somewhat of a home chef/foodie. I like to research recipes and make my own things at home. When I eat at certain establishments I find I am disappointed quite often. It's like this chef/ cook who prepared this meal for me does not have the same standards as I do. I guess that is why I am usually disappointed at most restaurants. I don't like to be the guy who only writes reveiws when he has a bad experience. I like to be totally fair and unbiased. If it's good I'll tell you so. So white spot in general is great for burgers, fries and breakfast. But it's hit and miss on other menu items.
Service was good overall.
we're been here a couple times, first time, long wait, no AC working, wasn't a pleasant experience, but we figured we'd give it another try for lunch yesterday.
The restaurant was about 50% occupancy, we were seated right away. Dining with my wife, and 2 sons, ages 4 and 6. We ordered drinks, an appy, and meals for all for of us; pizzas for us, and a couple kids meals for the boys.
After we ordered, we waited, and waited; 25 minutes passed, no appy, and no server anywhere to be seen. We finally flagged her down, and asked for our appy to be cancelled, as it was taking so long, and the kids were getting rather impatient. She rolled her eyes, said the kitchen was very busy, but everything was ordered. 10 minutes later our appy arrived, and so did everything else we ordered, all at the same time.
The issue didn't end here though, because after this, she disappeared again, for the entire meal, only resurfacing once to clear our dishes; not a single quality check, or to see if we wanted another round of drinks, which were empty half the meal. I actually had to flag down the passing manager to get him to bring us a glass of water for my son, as our server was nowhere to be found.
After all that, we asked for our bill, which came quickly, and included everything we ordered, including the appy that we had asked to be cancelled, and received with our food......at the very least, they should have taken that from our bill.
AS we sat there, I filled out the customer service survey on my phone, and received an email from the manager the next day, offering a free appy for the issues. So, after billing me for an item I had asked to be cancelled, waiting 35 minutes for our food, and being completely ignored by our server, all they thought to offer was to have us come back, spend more money with them, so I could get the appy for free that I should never had paid for in the first place? That is hardly acceptable, and shows a complete lack of regard for their customers. I don't make complaints, or write negative reviews, though we dine out 3-4 times a week; so if I am, it is because I am clearly unhappy, and expect to be taken seriously.
To add insult, the table next to us, (who received all their food within a minute of us, despite ordering 15 minutes after we did) sent back the Cactus Cut Potato Appy they ordered, which was replaced within a couple minutes, the manager dropping it off, with an apology, and saying it was on the house.
While the food itself was good, the customer service, or complete lack there of, will ensure that I will never be returning to this location; they can keep their free appy.
.so i have been eating here now for the last several sushi outings.
the food has always been fresh, and the quality amazing for the prices and portions that you receive.
i have eaten in 3 times, and taken out 4 times.
there is usually a long wait time, unless you go at non-rush hours.
lately i have been grabbing take out.tonight, i called to find out what time they closed., and was informed that the internet time of 11pm is incorrect. and that they actually close at 10pm.
i asked when was last call., i was told last call is 10pm, but we close at 1030pm.okay..,
so i get off from work at 955pm, i place my call as soon as i get to my car, they pick up the phone it's 958pm, and the girl quickly informs me that they are closed.
after a very long discussion, where i even asked to speak to the manager, but was told that their "manager doesnt speak english, so what should i do now, do you still want to try to communicate with him, hahaha???
i asked to speak to the guy who answered the phone 9pm and told me that i had until 10pm to place my order..., the phone was handed over to someone who said, i don't know what i can do for you now, we are closed, i didn't know that you were going to wait until 10pm to call to place an order,
when i told him that i called at 958pm he asked me to next time not to wait until so late to call.
i explained to both people, you either close at 10pm, or last call is either at 10pm, or..., it's whenever the hell you guys feel like it...., regardless..., just tell people, so that they can plan their lives better around you guys.
the place is run like a high school joint.
call takers, cashiers, waiters, and waitresses, that think the whole thing is just one big joke.
here's the kicker...., the jokes on us, because we the consumers of their fine foods, keep coming back for more..., so yeah..., they laugh at us, and speak in their own languages, and talk about us, and they think they're better then us.
if we the consumer want better service, then we need to do a better job of showing businesses like this one, what we think of their customer service attitude.
perhaps a social media blitz on a boycotting of tipping at this location starting on sunday, march 06, 2016 as soon as they open.
and if that doesn't get their attention, then maybe a social media blitz on a complete restaurant boycott for one full week starting the week of sunday, march 13, 2016.
we are constantly spending our hard earned money on places that either lack quality, quantity, or service..., it's time we hold onto our money, and show these businesses the likes of sushi garden lougheed, who is really the boss, because if we really wanted to, we could put them out of business.
sushi garden lougheed, if you're listening, you're only as good as the last order you served, or the last call you took.
Just because the food tastes good, doesn't give you a right to treat customers with disrespect.
I'd give you one star, but it's not your sushi chefs fault that the house staff, have NO training whatsoever, or were poorly raised, without proper manners and lack a fair deal of respect.
consider this your one and only warning.the power of social media knows no boundaries.
Maybe the clientele here are the kind of prole who will
Eat anything but I'm not. P
Was stuck here for a conference and was sick of starbucks and the dismal buffet. The noodle bowl sounded just perfect. Choose your broth noodles kveggies protein. How could that go wrong?
First I arrived at noon on a weekday. No staff. After 5 minutes some old guy who looked really out of it and not too bright comes out and does stuff but does not acknowledge me'or other people in line. The other people were smart and decided to drive to McDonald's. Wish I had. Finally after another 5 minutes some woman comes out announcing she had to go to the bathroom. Yay thanks for the update.
I ordered red curry broth which was super super super oily and not from coconut milk from some kind of gross oil. There was a an oil slick so thick on top of my soup that I wanted to call Greenpeace. Ew and yuk!! The ramen noodles were ok. I got 2 veggies minuscule serving of bean sprouts and 2 brocvoli trees. The bean sprouts should have been on top. Then I got a double order of dhrimp which equalled 6. They tasted off. I had asked the dude if the broth was vegetatian and he just stared at me so I took my chances.i do not eat chicken or beef. Halfway through I go to shove a chopstick full of stuff in and notice a huge long disgusting piece of some kind of meat. I just about puked.
I could not eat Anymore of this nastiness and threw it out. $10 down the drain and I wAs still hungry. Don't do it.
We were along on Tues. night, having booked the day before. It was popular. We selected our main course outside whilst waiting, then were introduced to our waiter & lead inside to our table. It was totally dark. We were surprised how the waitering staff managed to find their way around. Impressive.
We ordered drinks. A large beer in a tall glass might not have been the most practical of receptacles, but I didn't manage to put it down & knock it over when trying to re-find it ! Our starter was a small, beeroot & lettuce caesar salad, which was difficult to chase around the plate. It was also difficult to determine whether you had anything on your fork, so whilst it was an unusual experience, it was also a little frustrating at times.
My main course was beef tenderloin, which whilst very tasty, the portion size was somewhat small.
My sweet was a chocolate slab, again which was tasty but small.
The experience was undoubtedly unusual & different. But the portions were generally small, very average & the whole experience was severely over-priced.
We tired it once, but wont be going back.
This is my first time here and I cannot say I was blown away like I thought I would be. Maybe I had raised my expectations too high? Or fussed too much but I was expecting something better than what you would find in terms of Indian restaurants in New York or London. The food is a bit on the pricier side to begin with and the names are a bit strange. Difficult to find out what I like or don't like because it all seems so unfamiliar to me. The only dish I could recognize was the butter chicken. Plus, there were no samosas! A little disappointing. I ended up getting the butter chicken with rogan josh which were not bad. Found the portion sizes to be a little small, I usually end up with leftovers but this time there were none.
|1.||Stepho's Greek Taverna|
|3.||Anton's Pasta Bar|
|8.||Phnom Penh Restaurant|
|10.||Kobe Japanese Steak House|
|12.||Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar|
|19.||Les Faux Bourgeois Bistro|
|2.||Steveston Pizza Co.|
|3.||Sushi Shelter 101|
|4.||Seasons in the Park|
|6.||Talay Thai Restaurant|
|7.||Diva at The Met|
|8.||La Charcuterie Delicatessen|
|11.||Thomas Haas Chocolates & Patisserie|
|12.||Guu with Garlic|
|13.||Firehall Bistro, The|
|15.||La Grotta Del Formaggio|
|16.||Salade de Fruits Cafe|
|18.||Pink Peppercorn Seafood House|
|20.||Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar|